As computers are being used more and more in education, there will be soon no role for teachers in the classroom. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Technology is transforming every aspect of our lives including education. This trend benefits both students and teachers because it facilitates easier learning and teaching processes. A segment of society is convinced that with such rapid development of technology, very soon, computers will replace teachers in the classroom. Others, however, believe that the role of a teacher can never be replaced by artificial intelligence. I personally support the latter view. The following paragraphs will discuss both opinions and highlight my view. Computers are essential tools in schools to teach the basic concepts of a subject. Due to audio and video materials, children can easily understand the topic and grasp the elementary concepts. Moreover, computers can endlessly repeat the same lesson if pupils want to watch it again to better understand. For instance, if students are learning a foreign language, digital applications can make this process significantly easy by using images, audio materials and repeating the same word many times. Needless to say, AI is making education simplified, accessible and fun. Nonetheless, they are quite limited when it comes to complex topics. More specifically, they cannot identify the reason why students are making mistakes and cannot handle the students with difficulties in learning. This in turn can affect the academically advanced of some pupils. Only teachers can handle complex issues. For example, they can identify whether they should start teaching a new topic or spend more time explaining the old one. To conclude computes can teach only basic concepts. Teaching complex topics requires intelligence and AI is not more intelligent than teachers.