Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

It is often considered that do experiment on animals such as mice, rabbits or frogs should be banned, while other people think that it is essential for finding scientific knowledge. This essay will discuss why it is reasonable to test on animals and other ways to replace them. In the beginning, we cannot deny that scientists did experiments on animals a long time ago. It is reasonable because they found lots of information and theories which is beneficial for humans. In the past, they lacked technologies to discover new knowledge from other methods instead of test on animals. For instance, the German doctor found the pituitary gland which releases a hormone from the brain in frog and this data help lots of patients who suffer from hormone deficiency Thus, it is necessary to discover the science and medical knowledge from these tests. On the other hand, nowadays the technologies are developed in lots of ways and almost 80% of experiments do not have to do on animals. The GMO is one of the technologies that can replace the experiment on them by using clones of human tissues or plant tissue instead of the real ones. It is effective and has an accurate result. For example, lots of cosmetic companies in Korea use clone cells to test their products instead of rabbits and the result is as same as the old tests. However, some studies need to test on the real sample because it has unique systems that are extremely complicated. In conclusion, in the past, we could not do the tests without animals because of poor innovations and knowledge. These days, a lot of research does not have to use living samples, it can use new technologies instead of the old ones.