In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness is decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the conspicuous trends of today’s modern world is a colossal upsurge in obesity due to a decline in healthy habits. This could be attributed to the adaption of a sedentary lifestyle.There is a myriad of concerns,in my,opinion this apprehension is unwarranted and should be rejected.Effective measures should be taken and the aetiology of the problem should be studied. To begin with,in recent times obesity and fitness are the most debatable and controversial topics. This has lead to the attention to well being of humans. Moreover, the pandemic has generated an insight among masses with the phrase used in ancient days that health is wealth. It has shown us the mirror,how our healthcare systems were burdened with the patients suffering from non-communicable diseases such as diabetes and hypertension. For instance, a survey conducted by Oxford University reveals that a major factor for mortality among middle-aged populations during covid times was due to non-compliance with medical treatment and obesity. Secondly,both government and public organisations should come forward to take initiatives which are in the favour of people. Additionally,emphasis on regular workouts and physical activity in any form of sports should be taken.Cumulative steps should be taken to encourage citizens to adopt a healthy lifestyle. Further,stringent measures should be taken for regulation of processed and packaged food items as there are unhealthy. For example, a study by the Indian Institute of technology reveals that if steps are taken on discouraging people to use processed and packaged food items it would benefit their health in long term. In a nutshell,effective implementation of programmes at the grassroots level should be taken by various organisations to promote healthy living among the masses.