Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

These years, many people are inclined towards learning a foreign dialect. Most do it either for shifting or working in other countries. Conversely, other parts of people do it because of many other reasons like business or studies. There are two sides to this topic which I would like to discuss. However, in my view, I would certainly agree with the second statement because there are considerations like a new language opens door to newer business opportunities as well. To begin with, many presume that a large extent of people learn a foreign language in order to make a living there or just for traveling. With globalization, there is a significant surge in the jobs for the talented in many nations. This led to an enormous spike in the number of citizens learning other mother tongues. But they assume that this language is of no use in one’s own country. To illustrate this even further with an example, students who would be going to Germany to pursue their higher studies and want to do a part-time job locally are required to have a basic understanding of the native mother tongue for better interaction with the locals. Only then they would be given the chance to work there. On the other side, as a contradiction, many believe that learning other languages would also help them in effectively carry out their business activities. With high investments the tourism industry is booming, many foreigners visit other countries for recreational purposes where they would need a guide to show them across the city. Though English is an international and widely spoken language, it sometimes becomes a bit of a hassle as they would not be able to translate everything. At this moment, they would appreciate when the guide could speak their native language. This would provide better interaction. For instance, when an Italian visits India’s historical monuments, a guide who can speak the same language will surely help the tourist for better comprehension of the Indian culture. In Conclusion, I restate that, there is a drastic spike in the number of citizens learning new dialects. Though, many learn them for shifting and living in other places, there is a considerable proportion of humans that learn them for various causes like Business and recreation.