Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, we see that roadways, as well as railways connectivity, are given utmost importance in the development of a country. They count as a crucial factor when it comes to contributing to the economy of the country. Investing money in either one of them may hamper the balance as both the networks go hand in hand. I, therefore, would disagree with the point of government prioritizing railways over roadways and would discuss my viewpoints in the following paragraphs. Firstly, the road network is much more flexible as it gives a great advantage to all the businesses to plan their supply chain without any time boundation to transport goods, Also it saves a lot of hustle and bustle of transporting goods to a freight train as well as long delays of shipments while a change in schedules. For instance: a delay in transporting raw material could directly impact delays in the manufacturing, packaging and delivery processes and might incur huge losses. However, the rail network is much cheaper and can carry huge amounts in one go, road network provides safety and flexibility. Secondly, in recent years we have seen an aggressive increase in the number of cars on roads which has led to huge traffic problems nowadays. We see a lot of unconstructed roads as well as highways with non-working signal lights which have led to an increase in accidents and a great threat to human life. As per a study conducted by Cambridge, the road network is the most used network in any country. Therefore, in order to solve these problems, the government needs to step in and invest in the development and maintenance of roads as well as construct new bridges to divide the traffic and take measures to make it safer to drive to prevent accidents. To conclude, In my opinion, both networks go hand in hand. Investing in one might direct the traffic from the other towards that one. Besides prioritizing railways, the government should take measures to equally invest and develop both networks.