In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Currently, in most parts of the world, westernized clothing is the preferred choice of many individuals compared to traditional attire. This essay will discuss how the inevitable globalisation contributes to the issue and how I personally believe that the trend has a detrimental effect on the appreciation of various cultures. To begin with, the reason why people adapt to outfits of the west is globalisation. This means that clothing items such as jeans and suits are gaining popularity in various places around the world. Moreover, fashion brands have brought greater attention to the western style by utilising the media like magazines. Not only that, the frequent occurrence of this style has led people to believe that the western influence is superior to the traditional. Eventually, this leads to the shift of the public’s attention from locally ethnic apparel to its western counterparts. From a personal point of view, the phenomenon is a destructive development towards cultural appreciation of the community itself. Local culture and beliefs that are well represented in traditional outfits may lose their value over time. This may happen when people ignore the importance of wearing certain traditional costumes. As an illustration, Koreans used to wear multiple-layered-and-colourful traditional attire called Hanbok on New Year’s Eve, believing the bright colours and layers bring massive good luck to the year ahead. Nowadays, Koreans prefer to wear fancy and expensive items like jewellery and branded goods on New Year’s celebration to show off their wealth among their friends and family. Hence, the culture represented by the traditional costume has lost its value in the community. In conclusion, a majority of the society has shifted to wear clothing influenced by the western culture, instead of their own. The trend happened inevitably as globalisation plays a big role in promoting the western style to the general population. Unfortunately, I believe the development is unfavourable as it may cause the loss of deeper values and cultural beliefs that traditional costumes may exhibit.