*QUESTION*: Increasing car usage in many large global cities has caused a number of problems. Some cities have proposed banning private vehicles from the city centre. To what extent do you agree?

Global warming is a huge concern for many of us around the world. Carbon emissions are one of the largest contributors to this growing concern. Apart from industries, emissions of greenhouse gases are seen increasingly from the increased usage of private transport especially automobiles in major urban towns across the globe. I totally agree with the point that stringent actions and laws should be introduced that can prevent these cars from moving around freely. Urbanisation and improved economic lifestyles made it inevitable to own a private car for social status. Cars were rarely part of any middle-class earning family prior to the 20th century. But today, a car is an essential part of every family and what is surprising is that most of the riches own more than five cars. This is absurd and strict laws should be enforced so that not more than one car is owned by a family. Further, it brings down emissions and helps to improve air quality. For example, if getting to work takes an hour for someone during the traffic peaks, using an alternative transport will help them to arrive half an hour before Moreover, the vehicular movements were restricted to bring the air quality to acceptable levels in New Delhi, the capital of India. On the other hand, experts are talking about the impact on the economy and job losses owing to a reduction in car sales. For example, recent research in my country, Iraq, suggests that 75% of air pollution is caused by the increasing numbers of vehicles on the streets. But, we should encourage to build environment-friendly cars like electric and hydrogen-based. To conclude, we need to support the voice of our scientists and weather experts, who have been raising alarms and asking authorities across the world to encourage public transportation and clamp down on car usage to make the earth a better place to live.