Many people believe that the priority of the government should be to ensure a growing economy. While others believe that the government should focus its efforts on uplifting the less fortunate? Discuss both views.

Some folks believe that leaders should prioritize economic growth as a primary goal. However, there are some who believe their efforts should be made to better the lives of the underprivileged. Here in this essay, we will discuss both views. On one hand, the economic development of a country is important as it gives the ruling party the money need to focus on other areas. As the nation grows, more job opportunities are created and hence the unemployment rate drops. But, most people from the lower classes may not qualify for the job created and the poor will get poorer. For example, in Bangalore, the IT industry has flourished but this has not helped the underprivileged people as the jobs are mostly white-collar jobs and require high qualifications. On the other hand, when the government starts to bring up the less fortunate, more of the population become employable and a part of the skilled workforce. This will help in the economic growth. However, many of the programs introduced by the government may go unnoticed by the underprivileged people due to the lack of education. More schemes to provide learning opportunities for the down-trodden will help. For example, many companies have social responsibility programs but they are used to paint the company as a good one in most cases. In conclusion, the growth of the economy and the upliftment of the lower classes of people should go hand in hand. In my opinion, both issues are correlated and can fuel the other.