Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Nowadays, a wide range of museums seems to be appealed mainly by foreign visitors rather than locals. This essay is dedicated to analysing possible reasons why this is occurring and a number of methods to attract more local visitors. There is a myriad of factors contributing to the low number of local people visiting museums and historical sites. Firstly, local visitors may have already visited such places and have some significant knowledge about their own culture and history. Furthermore, most museums and historical sites are not up-to-date so local people don’t have a burning desire to visit something they have gone through previously. Hence, local inhabitants may feel like they don't need to return to these places so often and most of the museum-goers are tourists. Although it does seem to be a difficult task to gain local people’s attraction to their own historical sites. However, there are plenty of ways to encourage them to do so. By housing not only national masterpieces but also international, museums can diversify the content and meet the ever-increasing demand for educational values of current museum-goers. For instance, phenomenal paintings from great artists such as Leonardo da Vinci or Van Gogh, once displayed will draw a great appeal to visitors and help to broaden their horizons. Furthermore, instead of just housing historical objects, museums can provide more top-notch facilities such as a big screen projector which can show vivid videos of wartime. Hence, visitors can have full details about the harsh journey their forefathers had to suffer in order to build the country and how they enjoyed their winning over the enemies. This will definitely encourage them for a second visit. In conclusion, attracting local people to visit museums and historical sites in their area may be a difficult process. However, there are still a number of ways that locals could be encouraged to do so.