Some people prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, some undergraduates are inclined to delay tertiary education for one year, and this seems to be an increasingly common trend in many parts of the world. From my perspective, while deferring university enrollment allows students to enrich their life experiences, I would contend that the disadvantages of this phenomenon could overshadow its merits. On the one hand, this trend could be plausible because it could inflict a host of beneficial impacts. Initially, it would be absurd to ignore the fact that gap-year takers can stand a better chance of honing practical skills and cultivating relevant job skills. For example, due to travelling abroad themselves, they can be able to have access to bleeding-edge technologies in numerous developed countries, as well as become independent and get adapted to alien cultures. Another pronounced merit could be that they can identify a suitable career path or seeking job opportunities by attending vocational training courses, which is hardly attainable if they are occupied with intense study schedules. Therefore, they can obtain various higher-paying jobs since firms increasingly attach greater importance to applicants who have much life experience. On the other hand, I am convinced that those aforementioned benefits are pale in comparison with the compelling drawbacks of delaying higher education for one year. In other words, students who take a year-long break can fall behind their studies, which is a driving force behind being indifferent to studying. This may act as a precursor to their deteriorating performance. Therefore, a variety of students tend to work in lieu of coming to college, which most of them are likely to do entry-level jobs that neither afford them a high living standard nor teach them anything substantive. The conclusion to be drawn is that although the favourable benefits of this phenomenon are of paramount significance, its unfavourable aspects should not be overlooked and underestimated.