In some cities, public parks and open spaces are changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do you think the benefits outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, in several urban areas around the world, public parks are being turned into gardens where people in the neighbourhood can plant their desired kinds of greens and fruits. From my perspective, I am convinced that this is a positive trend and its advantages surpass its downsides. To commence with, it is undeniable that having agricultural sites in big cities brings about some inconvenience. The most significant drawback is that the overall appearance of the city, which is considered a modern and spotless place, will be spoiled as gardening activities are quite dirty. For example, there will be dirt and mud on the street as people enter and leave the gardens or harvest their vegetables. Additionally, vegetables do not provide the tranquillity and calm atmosphere that parks with a variety of trees have. However, I strongly believe that this development has more beneficial aspects than disadvantageous ones. The primary advantage is that this supplies citizens a clean and sustainable source of vegetables, which makes a huge contribution to their healthy lifestyle, as well as benefits them economically. Not only can city dwellers enjoy organic food that is good for their well-being, but they can also set aside a great amount of money since purchasing greens from the market is not necessary anymore. In addition, the fact that people can grow plants in gardens in the middle of urban areas can support them mentally and hinder mental illnesses such as depression. Given that gardening is a calm and relaxing activity, people can either decompress and find a new hobby when doing this. All of which reduce the risk of being burnt out and depressed. In conclusion, it is true that replacing public parks with gardens renders some disadvantages. Nonetheless, I am of the opinion that the benefits of this trend eclipse its negative sides, in terms of health improvements and money-saving.