Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantage.

It is sometimes argued that museums should charge visitors for entrance tickets. While it is reasonable for them to earn some money, more negative factors can be seen on it. There are several aspects why tourists sometimes pay for an admission ticket to a museum. Firstly, revenues earned can be used to extend the exhibition halls and upgrade facilities as for a better development. Secondly, people who are charged outside the gate may pay more attention to those displays inside as they don't want to waste money. For example, we often treasure some expensive items like laptops, mobile phones due to the large amount of money we spend on them. Thus, people will value more about relics which they pay the price for. However, more disadvantages can be seen on that. Most of the museums are owned and funded by local governments, where public museums could get enough financial support. Citizens who have been taxed by the government have already paid for the ticket price indeed. What's more, public educational places like museums, libraries should be equally accessible to all people regardless of whether or not they could afford a ticket. For example, most of the students who earn no money are frequently asked to visit museums by their schools. Usually they can't afford a chargeable ticket. Finally, the museum plays a fundamental role in containing and spreading regional culture and specialities as people will never forget about their origins. It is obvious that a non-chargeable museum can make its value more profounded. In conclusion, although it is reasonable for some museums to charge, I strongly believe drawbacks exceed the strengths.