In many cities crime is increasing. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce crime levels? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern world, it is undeniable that the crime rate has been increasing over time. Despite the fact that there are two main causes of this situation, but steps can definitely be taken by governments. There are two main factors that contribute to committing crimes in today's society. The first contributing is that the large gap between wealthy and poor people due to unequal wealth distribution is becoming the major social problem, leading impoverished persons to have no choice to be thefts, robbers or even abductions. For example, the lack of money and basic needs would be an incentive to do lots of anti-social activities which can gain these necessaries for existence to themselves and their loved ones. Another factor is the existing number of uneducated populations who are jobless since they are none of the degrees to get an ideal job. To survive, they would misbehave doing unsuitable ways eventually. This problem can take steps to address by the governments. Firstly, the governments should employ a progressive tax and benefits system, once richer are forced to pay more taxes, the authorities will gain more money to solve the issue by encouraging many private companies to recruit more employees. This could be beneficial and open higher job opportunities in the lab our market. Secondly, The authorities can provide subsidized education for a variety of institutions and make it compulsory for children to attain schools or higher education. In doing this, children who will become adults in the upcoming future would be educated on how they can get jobs and improve their qualifications to be great people. For instance, in developed countries such as the UK and Japan, after the regulations of providing educational opportunities for civilians throughout the country, the crime rate has decreased immensely. In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the issue caused by income disparity and the lack of education for residents.