In the future, more people will choose to go on holiday in their own country and not travel abroad on holiday. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, the most pursued recreational activity for people during holidays is travelling. Regarding the destination, it is argued by some commentators that later on, individuals will have more preference for local trips to foreign vacations. However, my opinion contradicts this statement for various reasons which will be elucidated further in this essay. The main reason why people will continue to opt travelling abroad is globalisation. This phenomenon has promoted international travel to incline leading to the convenience of transportation. To illustrate, flights across countries have become more frequent in schedule at a lower cost, hence, people can pick a date or budget of their fitting. Another factor is the ease of restrictions by the governments to invite more visitors to drive their tourism industry. Unlike ancient times, many countries no longer have strict requirements to satisfy the visa. For instance, Thailand has allowed tourists from Southeast Asian nations to enter and remain for two weeks without a visa. Lastly, travelling abroad displays one’s social status as only those who have the resources such as money and privilege of long holidays can enjoy. Admittedly, it is also true that recently, access to a myriad of mesmerising locations in local areas has been made possible due to revolutionisation in road infrastructure. Therefore, individuals unable to afford an oversea trip or lack the time tend to travel more locally. For example, those who desire a short getaway for a few days would visit the neighbouring city rather than the country next door. To conclude, I believe that a high number of people across the globe will still pursue international vacations because of the ease of travels due to globalisation, less hassle for visa applications and to boast their social status.