Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the growing number of vehicles on the road has raised serious concerns about safety. Many people argue that increasing the minimum legal age required to drive or ride motorbikes is the most practical approach. Personally, I partly agree with this statement because some other major factors also play a crucial role in road safety. On the one hand, setting a higher minimum legal age for driving cars or motorbikes is considered an effective solution since young drivers are more likely to be involved in road accidents due to their lack of experience and sometimes reckless behaviour. Raising the legal age will reduce the number of such accidents, as older individuals tend to act more responsibly. Research, for example, shows that car and motorbike accidents are the main cause of death in people aged 15-29. It is clear that, if these adolescents are prevented from driving cars or motorbikes, the risk of accidents will decrease. On the other hand, factors such as drunk driving, crime, and insufficient awareness of transport users lead to unsafe roads. If the government only changes the minimum legal age for cars and motorbikes to a higher age, roads will still be unsafe because of the reasons above. For example, in 2022, over 30% of road accidents in the UK were caused by drunk driving, according to government data. Therefore, the increase in the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike is one of the most effective ways not the best way to keep roads safe. In conclusion, increasing the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike is an effective solution since many young drivers are inexperienced and behave recklessly. However, it is not the best way to keep roads safe since other factors play a crucial role in road safety.