In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Many people are getting more interested in establishing about the history of structures they stay in because of things like insecurity, availability of resources. They can always find out from existing tenants or talking to friends. To begin with, the public tend to find out whether there have been cases of crime in places they reside in. Some specific residential buildings within a certain neighbourhood might have been experiencing theft cases and muggings since the management has not employed guards, or there are no security features like CCTVs; therefore, it is paramount for them to get to know about such incidences. Eastlands, for example, in Nairobi is not a good place to live in as there are many cases of insecurity. In addition to the above, they also want to understand if the house receives adequate water supply throughout the week. Nairobi is a city, for instance, that faces water shortages, so in most cases, there is water rationing; however, some buildings get steady water supply. Friends living within a particular neighbourhood can provide information that someone might be looking for regarding a certain building. This is because they may gather it from either their workmates or neighbors. They know where there are issues like water problems or crime. Hence, it is crucial getting in touch with them. Another source of information is from existing tenants, and they will be truthful as compared to caretakers or property managers. In most cases, tenants have nothing to lose and some might be planning to move out, so they will definitely open up in case there are challenges they are facing. In summary, people undertake research about the building they reside in as a result of various factors such as insecurity, resources availability. Friends and tenants are always good in giving such data.