Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Advertisements are a well-known marketing strategy nowadays; however, people possess different points of view on this. Some contend that it manipulates us to purchase unnecessary items. At the same time, debaters argue that commercials are essential to educate us about the latest products, which increases comfort in our daily lives. I completely agree with the former view. Firstly, the reason for my agreement is an increase in cases of low self-esteem. To explain, a large number of organizations promote their product by making others feel low about themselves, and eventually, their lower self-esteem grids them to buy the specific product to make them look perfect. For instance, some beauty creams present their advertisements with models who were dark in the past, but after applying their cream, they became two shades brighter. A number of people fall into this trap, and they start buying creams. This is not the only case of brightness. Similarly, People with obesity, baldness and short height fall under this trap. The second reason for my agreement is the adverse effects of advertisements on children. Some toys and chocolate advertisements promote greediness and stubborn behaviour in children. To exemplify, one of my colleagues was complaining to me about her child; whenever her daughter sees an attractive toy advertisement, she starts demanding it, even though she already has plenty of them. And when I refuse to purchase, she starts throwing things after getting angry. To conclude, although commercials are imperative for our education about new items, I completely agree with the first view that they manipulate people by affecting consumers' self-esteem, as well as increasing bad behaviour in children.