Immigration has a major impact on society. What are the main reasons of immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

People moving from one country to another has been going on for a while now, and there are many causes of immigration. Some of the top reasons include seeking work opportunities and fleeing persecution. There are both positive and negative effects that include economic growth and pressure on resources. To begin with, individuals migrate in such for job opportunities and green pasture. Their home countries could be having limited employment opportunities and they struggle to feed their families; hence, they decide to migrate and seek better lives elsewhere. This is common in third -world countries, whose citizens, for instance, move to Europe, the USA and Canada. In addition to the above, some could be running away from persecution spearheaded by rogue regimes. Some countries are known to persecute their citizens for political and religious reasons. An Arab state like Saudi Arabia is an example of some of the notorious countries known for targeting political dissidents. On the positive side, immigration, however, might result in economic growth for countries. The United States and Canada are some of the most developed countries in the world, but this growth is largely because of immigrants driving up the economy. They could contribute to jobs that require highly skilled and low skilled workers, thus paying taxes, buying properties and spending most of their income within host countries. On the negative side, the influx of foreigners could strain physical infrastructures such as hospitals, sewerage systems, water supply and transport systems. These newcomers need water, health services, and to move from one place to another. Australia is one such country that is trying to encourage immigrants to settle in smaller cities, as big cities are becoming highly populated. In conclusion, immigration occurs since people are seeking better job opportunities and escaping repressive regimes. There are also benefits and drawbacks such as growth in the economy and straining the resources of the countries.