Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, a plethora of people are agreeing to the terms of the developers in return for usage of the application. The benefits of this software are efficient services in a timely manner, however, they store data and sell it to other companies as well for revenue generation, ruining the public’s privacy. Therefore, in my opinion, the disadvantages of software usage are more than its advantages. On one hand, applications help individuals to get work done with convenience, at a higher speed and with accuracy. In this technical era, it’s extremely necessary to use service providers for work, travel, business, banking and even for buying food. For example, Google provides its consumers with a variety of services across the sectors; namely Gmail for communication, YouTube for entertainment, Gpay for payments, Google Maps for navigation, Google Docs for presentations and education, etc. All these apps make it a lot easier to get things done in a busy schedule by just signing up with one company and creating a single digital account. Nevertheless, using technology comes with its drawbacks like exposure to personal information and location, as while signing up the disclaimer to accept cookies or the terms and conditions of the service, is required and the site can only be accessed after acceptance. These guidelines are usually permission to allow the collection and storage of private information and searches conducted on web search engines which can be used against the user if the need arises. For instance, whenever we talk or search for a particular thing online, it suddenly starts appearing on all the applications. This is due to the leakage of information from one site to another as the data is sold for revenue generation by the developers. To conclude, websites require a commitment to provide personal information in turn for consumption. and the drawbacks of this allowance are greater than its efficiency of service owing to the fact that it ruins privacy for monetary gains.