In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, technologies are advanced rapidly; and without any doubt, in the foreseeable future, self-driving cars will eventually replace traditional cars. Although it is true that travelling by driverless cars is safer and more comfortable than human-driving cars, there are some concerning drawbacks to be taken into account. Though self-driving automobile offer many advantages, there are also setbacks. One of the many problems is the risk of the driving software being hacked. Though driverless cars can save a lot of lives from tragic car accidents, that is the presumption based on the situations when the software is running perfectly. To illustrate, in the event where the software is hacked, the passenger would be in grave danger as there is no one who can control the car, which may result in an accident. Hence, the risk of driverless cars being hacked has to be taken into account. On the other hand, if the software engineer can control that liability, self-driving cars would prevent a lot of lives from car accidents. There are many studies shown that travelling by car is considered to be one of the most dangerous means of transportation: millions of people have died due to car accidents. Fortunately, the problem of car accidents can be solved by self-driving cars as they have the program to prevent almost all unpredicted events from happening. Therefore, there will be much fewer car accidents in the future. Moreover, self-driving cars offer more convenient travelling experiences, especially for the driver. For instance, instead of driving the car by yourself, you can let the machine take the wheels. Thus, it would be more comfortable for people to use self-driving cars. To conclude, I personally think that the benefits of self-driving cars outweigh the drawbacks as driverless cars offer a lot of benefits to the passenger: a safer trip and a more convenient experience. Further, it is my opinion that the danger of the self-driving car being hacked can be mitigated by an expert.