Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the modern-day, the crime rate in the urban areas is steadily increasing, thanks to the high cost of living, unemployment, etc. Therefore, it is believed that a rigid punishment should be implemented for every type of transgression. Nevertheless, some people argue that we must never overlook the circumstances of a felony as well as the motive of it before giving correct retributions. From my perspective, although different varieties of misdeed require different kinds of treatment, I think that we should look into all aspects of it when carrying out a penalty. This essay will illustrate two major reasons to substantiate my claim. Firstly, the situation of the act greatly affects its seriousness Some criminals didn't have any intentions of harming anyone but the circumstances coerced them into committing such misdeeds. Justified self-defence and involuntary manslaughter are the two epitomes of the influence of condition. For example, a farmer who was infuriated by bugs and mouses galore decided to build an electric fence in order to zap rodents and insects trying to damage his crop. Unfortunately, a neighbour passed by and unbeknownst to the victim, he accidentally stepped on it, got electrocuted afterwards. Despite the farmer's presence was nowhere to be found when the neighbour died from electrocution, he indirectly killed the victim. Consequently, this kind of illegal action should be categorized as involuntary manslaughter, thus the charge of it will be more lenient than that of a murder. Secondly, when making an assessment of crime, an important factor that needs taking great consideration is motive. The reasons for wrongdoing may vary, from feuds to greediness, with some that may be obscure or hard to identify with. For instance, if the person cannot manage his or her own motives, such as a person with mental disorders, they, therefore, cannot be punished. However, criminals should deserve harsher retributions if they have serious objectives. This could be exemplified through the following example. A man murdered a woman and her family as well because they had an argument about a small deal that they hadn't settled for a while. For a petty cause that made the murderer killed the victim and her relatives, who were innocent people, he must at least serve a life sentence. To summarize, many people are of the opinion that each type of violation associates with a fixed punishment. Nevertheless, there are many elements to consider as they can make a huge impact on the charge. As a result, it is advisable to take any matters into account, carefully and thoroughly, before giving the criminals justified treatments.