Some people think that the best way to solve global environment problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The continuous burning of fossil fuels is the major contributor to the environmental problem plaguing mother earth over the last decade. Society feels that the best way to tackle this problem is to increase the cost of fuel. However, I feel that is not the only way to relieve this planet of this problem. I will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. First and foremost, increasing fuel costs will create a change in the transportation sector. Many people will choose to take alternate mediums of transport. They will be encouraged to carpool, use public transport and even in the case of short-distance travel, walk or use a bicycle. However, there is still no guarantee for this. For example, in my hometown Trivandrum, the price is currently INR. 104/- per litre, and keeps rising every week. Considering, that travel by car and bike is the easiest mode of transportation because of the distance between the different requirements in the city, and the lack of a reliable public transport system, individuals are still forced to rely on their cars to move from place to place. Alternately, what the government needs to do, is to strengthen the public transport sectors, impose heavy fines on the number of vehicles a family can posse, and in addition, they must thrust onto the public fines for using vehicles after a certain hour. Furthermore, they should encourage local bicycle businesses, by creating more bicycle lanes and parks, which will in turn help to boost their business. Car manufacturers, must look into the possibility of producing greener cars, and slowly phase out the production of petrol and diesel vehicles. Once this happens, more and more petrol stations will cater to the new requirements by vehicle owners. These are some of the changes that the administration can enforce. In conclusion, I believe the increase in fuel price is not the only answer for this problem, but in fact, the government has to invest heavily in renewable forms of energy if any sustainable and lasting change needs to be made.