Although more and more people read the news on internet, newspaper will remain the most important source of news for the majority of people. Do you agree or disagree?

Many traditionalists believe that although there is an increasing number of people who have access to the news on the Internet, conventional newspapers will still be the major source of news for everyone. I totally disagree with this view. On the one hand, the speed and convenience of the Internet in this digital age have led to the increasing popularity of online news. Firstly, through online newspapers, people can access up-to-the-minute news as it happens, 24 hours a day every day. As long as I have a smartphone or laptop with me, I can connect almost instantly to the Internet, surf websites, and access the news of my choice across the globe. Secondly, more and more people can have access to the Internet, so this trend appears to continue. The more widespread the accessibility of the Internet, the more people come to rely on it as their news source. On the other hand, conventional newspapers have their drawbacks which affect their popularity. One major disincentive of relying on newspapers as a news source is the cost. Competing with freely available news online, newspaper publishers face the risk of falling circulation figures. Thus, they have published online versions alongside printed editions in an attempt to arrest this trend. Another disadvantage of newspapers is the amount of paper consumed in their production. With growing environmental awareness, there is a body of public opinion which rejects buying newspapers because this involves cutting trees and transporting them to paper mills. While this may not be a major factor at present, these arguments for the environment will almost certainly gain ground in the future. In conclusion, I would argue that newspapers will continue to decline in importance, and more and more people will use the Internet to access the news.