People think that countries should produce foods that their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, in the 21st century, international logistics play an important role in the economic development of countries in the whole world. It is argued that the food should be produced for the population instead of being imported. In my opinion, I partly agree with this view but it does not mean I oppose importing food. My reasons will be explained in the next paragraph. On the one hand, producing food for the citizens in a nation brings several benefits to the population. Firstly, the food planted or fed and used on the spot are usually fresh and nutritious because they are not added preservatives or other chemicals to keep them looking fresh after the transport process. Secondly, the residents there can guarantee food hygiene and safety because they know the originals of that food as well as their farming process. In addition, the foods ’ prices are also much cheaper than the imported food as those prices do not include shipping fees, preservation fees and other supply fees. On the other hand, foods from foreign countries are also necessary to be imported because of their advantages. As a result of differences in weather between regions, there are several foods a country can produce that the others can. For instance, some tropical fruits can only be grown in countries with hot climates while some other fruits can only be grown in cold climates. This leads to the exchange of goods between countries together. Especially, some foods such as Korean ginseng, Kobe beef become popular in the lives of inhabitants in a country but those foods cannot grow in climate, soil conditions there. In conclusion, although it is beneficial to consume goods produced for the citizens in a country, I believe that it is better to balance between producing and importing food for the residents.