Some people strongly oppose animal experimentation, believing that it causes pain to animals, while some other people consider it necessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating up a debate over animal-based testing. While some people extremely disagree with animal experimentation, the other makes a statement that it is significant. Personally, I would consider myself as an advocate of the former idea. Without a shadow of a doubt, animals act as an indispensable subject for scientific testing to contribute to the sake of humans, but not all kinds of meat play such an important role. To be more specific, because meat available in supermarkets for people’s consumption is produced by industrial agriculture. In other words, with the intense use of modern technology and mass production techniques, the produced livestock, poultry or fish cannot be taken as ordinary animals but only as manufactured goods. Hence, it is clear that industrial farming is essential to address food supply problems and starvation. On the other hand, there is little chance of finding satisfying substitutions for animals. Animal experiments are used mainly because they bear a close resemblance to humans, either in behavior or in cell structures. Particularly, they respond to external disturbances nearly in the same manner as humans do. There is much evidence that most of what people know about themselves, including pain, stress, reproduction and nutrition, is based on animal-based experiments. Therefore, it proves to be one of the main approaches to predict the risk when drugs or other products are used on humans. In conclusion, experiments on animals for testing medicines play a vital role in the development of the well-being of humans.