In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case ? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In different countries, their housing markets are influenced by a myriad of external factors, therefore, people ’s preferences in these provinces are also different. In some states, individuals would prefer buying a home rather than renting one, this might be because of emotional or financial reasons. I believe that the choice of buying a home over renting is highly subjective but, personally I think getting a rented place to stay would be a better decision for the individual and ecosystem. People buy homes for various reasons, first, is an emotional reason where, humans try to settle-down with their loved ones and live in a home for the rest of their lives. For instance, in India as soon as a person gets a hefty pay-check, his family would suggest to buy a house for himself, so that he can marry and settle there. Second reason for buying a property would be as an investment, where individuals would buy house and lease it, to illustrate, until the ‘2008 Mortgage Crisis’ house was an asset which was skyrocketing in its valuation, and people used to buy houses to sell after a few years. These two are the main reasons for buying a home, but there are consequences associated with buying a new house for every individual. The choice of buying a home, versus renting is a purely subjective matter which depends on the career goals of an individual, as well as the economic situation in their homeland. However, I am more inclined to renting a house rather than buying one, because of the impact it has on the environment. For example, people tend to migrate to cities as part of their employment, but that might be a temporary arrangement, therefore if people are trying to own a home in that city that might cause a space limitation as well as increase pollution, due to new constructions. Furthermore, renting also gives people flexibility to move around from one location to another. In conclusion, nowadays in some countries individuals tend to buy a home over renting. The reason for buying a house might be emotional or financial. Although this choice is purely subjective, I believe that paying rent provides more flexibility as well as, decreases pollution due to construction. Therefore, the trend of buying a house seems to be a negative development.