Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work. How do you think children should spend their time?

Time is the most vital resource we have. Some say that children should do school-work during their free time. I strongly think that not only children should study in their free time but also they should play sports to use their time effectively. There are multiple avenues to use spare time for children, but I feel that attaining a well-rounded education is the most important task of childhood. Though children study at various schools, lessons learnt can only be applied outside of schools. For example, even though Geography is taught at school, observing the patterns of nature requires students to step outside of their schools so they develop practical understanding. Additionally, a child can read about topics that are not part of his syllabus and that can inculcate skills that are needed beyond academics. Children can, secondly, use their free time effectively by playing games. As it is evident that playing is essential to building the character of an individual, so taking up sports at an early age can really work wonders for children. It teaches us to accept defeat and to carry on without getting bogged down. If a child can understand this early in life then it can be a prime catalyst to develop the right attitude. For instance, Sachin Tendulkar learned early in his childhood that despite being short, he can compete physically with big boys, which was instrumental in him being a renowned sportsman later. To conclude, the free time of children can be used efficiently by playing sports and by honing educational skills. Thus, I feel that it is important that children manage their time well so that they can be the best human being.