POPULAR EVENTS LIKE THE FOOTBALL WORLD CUP AND OTHER INTERNATIONAL SPORTING OCCASSIONS ARE ESSENTIAL IN ERASING INTERNATIONAL TENSIONS AND REALISING PATRIOTIC EMOTIONS IN A SAFEST WAY/ TO WHAT EXTEND YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THIS OPINION

There is no doubt that sports events like the football world cup, Cricket world cup and commonwealth games and all providing a platform to build up unity between the countries and also initiate a patriotic feel to everyone. On the contrary, these occasions sometimes create tension amongst the countries. This essay will discuss this topic in detail. Firstly, I agree with the point that, conducting sports and games in international ways will be provoking the individuals to a nationally responsible person. Moreover, through these, events people are getting chances to show their love and support to their nation. Moreover, the winners will get appreciation and attention from all over the world and this brings pride to their nation. Along with that, the whole country celebrates the victory as their own. In fact, all these moments make people enjoy the patriotic feel to the highest level in the safest way. Secondly, although these occasions provide possibilities to have a good bond between the countries, this also may create issues among the nations because of participants or athletes. This may happen because of short-tempered athletes or participants due to the use of any drugs. For example, a few years back few athletes from a well-known country got punished for using illegal drugs during competition. In addition, they use these kinds of drugs for increasing their stamina although; they know that this is unethical. Therefore, these issues create a negative impact on the nation they represent and also, this may create problems between the participating countries. Due to this, the above-mentioned behaviour from athletes can be avoided by providing proper counselling to the participants and also they should train well about the way of behaviour. Apart from the mentioned issue, it is clear that conducting sports events at the international level may help to ease tension between the countries. To conclude, having international sports events build up strong patriotic emotions and bring pride to the nation. Moreover, these also help to reduce tension among countries if the athletes are trained to behave well.