In some countries, girls and boys are educated in different schools rather than in the same school. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In many countries, it is common for girls and boys to be taught in separate schools. The consequences of this are debatable, however, we shall substantiate them in the course of this essay. First and foremost, a single-gender school avoids the possibility of unwanted problems. Students can focus more and are more likely to work better in teams, as they will be able to coordinate easily with each other. Communication, between peers, is easier resulting in stronger relationships. For example, whilst I was studying in Dubai, the school I was in, was divided into a boys section and a girls section, with both sections not being allowed to interact with each other which made conversations and communications easier. Being part of a friend circle was unchallenging. However, the biggest drawback of segregating both sexes, is that it prevents men from becoming comfortable talking to the opposite sex. When teenagers get older, they get more inquisitive, and since they cannot interact with the girls, they tend to look for the next best alternative, which is online interaction, which will slowly lead to the viewing of adult content. This is skew their view of women. Other problems that arise, is that they will lack the skills to empathise with women, which is not corrected can lead to major problems in future, such as the failure to commit, inability to get married and many more. In conclusion, I feel the demerit outweigh the merits in this regard, as male students should be allowed to interact with female students in a carefully controlled environment so that they will learn to understand and respect each other at a very young age and this will help them foster lasting relationships later in life.