Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people consider that throughout educational journey, from lower to higher levels, facts are emphasised more as compared to developing practical skills. However, I am of the opinion that having strong theoretical knowledge has a great significance in a variety of ways. One of the reason to focus on learning facts is that background knowledge needs to be stronger. Without knowing facts whole-heartedly, students can never learn the appropriate practical implications of a subject. To illustrate this, for doctors anatomy is considered to be a theory based subject but in order to be a great surgeon, one must master even the tiniest details of this subject, otherwise he/she would end up being a disaster for the society. Another reason that favours this idea is that primary schools specifically ought to teach theory because of its immense significance in selection of career, later in adulthood, for example mathematics and philosophy are thought to be comprised of facts and figures, while in reality, they provide the much needed base for engineering and dramatics respectively. Hence, by observing one's ability to grasp these concepts and personal choices, teachers and family members can do career counselling of youngsters accordingly. In conclusion, although some people give more value to practical knowledge, I am of the opinion that focusing the facts in educational institutions is the key to a successful future.