Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for you answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

A recent survey shows that 50% of people have same choice of outfits. Certain people believe that a person’s culture and character can be completely judged based on their dressing sence. I disagree with this statement. This essay shall examine it in detail. To begin with, in recent times most people wear clothes that are very identical. For example, most of the schools and colleges in India instruct their students to wear uniforms. So we cannot identify a person’s culture based on their clothing style. Next, the character of a person cannot be proven good based on the way they dress. For instance, when I met with an accident few years back most well- dressed people hesitated to offer help, but a cab driver saved me by taking me to the hospital. Character and culture of an individual can be interpreted by the way one reacts to certain situation. We cannot hide our bad character under our clothes. On the other hand, we can hardly evaluate a person’s culture and character based on their dress. It influences the results up to certain extent only. For instance, only somethings can be defined based on how well one presents themselves. Firstly, only few basic quality about a person can be understood with which a lot can be improvised about them. Secondly, by doing so most of time people tend to understand a person in a wrong manner. Even though first impression is important it does not have to be completely true. To summarise, evaluating a person’s nature based on the way they dress does not give a lot of information, but just common understanding about them which may or may not be true.