Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

As the 21st century continues to unfold, working overtime is becoming more common in society. This essay will explain the possible factors behind this phenomenon and put forward consequences. On the one hand, there are various factors contributing to this problem. A compelling one is that people would like to supplement their incomes by working longer hours. To justify this, nowadays, the living standard is higher day by day, thus, people have to earn more money for purchasing their demands. Plus, working overtime also happens to individuals who have financial responsibilities, for example taking care of families. Apart from that, people often work for longer times to foster their positions. To illustrate, it helps people enhance employer-employee relationships. Accordingly, there will be various opportunities for people to become successful. On the other hand, this issue poses a threat to people who follow this trend. Firstly, working for a long period takes a toll on humans’ health. This is because hectic schedules and overwhelming workloads cause sleeplessness, stress, and tiredness. Little by little, they push people's health to the limit. Another impact is that spending too much time on work can bring negative effects to work life balance. For instance, people do not have enough quality time for their beloved. Additionally, they even can not relax and spend time on their hobbies or passions. In conclusion, working overtime is an issue in society and it will continue in the future. Personally, I regard this phenomenon can bring people certain chances and benefits, nevertheless, its consequences are manifold drawbacks on a daily basis.