Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Questions are being raised in this day and time on whether the majority of the grown population spending their leisure time on computer games gives benefits or does the opposite. Some also question why the population has led to this. In my mind, this is undeniably due to the current time and situation, and this might affect most negatively in the long run. Firstly, most people play computer games as they have to spend most of their time at home, especially during this pandemic. As technology and games have been designed to mimic new, fun and adventurous experiences through playing, it is not unusual for most to turn heads towards it during this time. In addition, especially for those who live alone, new contacts and friends could be made through multiplayer games. Thus, as a consequence, people gave most portions of their leisure to computer games. Although this can be a temporary coping mechanism for people during this hardship, negative effects are undeniably present, such as the populations being subjective to game addiction, having an unhealthy diet and sleep and losing touch with close family members and friends. For instance, a recent survey suggests that most adults with game addiction may be exposed to diabetes, migraine and other adverse health condition in the long term. To be sure, games could bring tons of benefits, but if it is not dealt with to some extent, the impact would be destructive, affecting one's health. To conclude, most adults are definitely in favour of games that give fun and adventurous experiences these days. However, it should be considered a negative development as drawbacks will surely outweigh the benefits if people are addicted to computer games.