Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a “gap year”, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For other expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different points of view about travelling while almost all ideas argued that adult people tended to expect for a long trip prior to working or learning and consider it is an opportunity to acquire pieces of knowledge. However, some proponents claimed that it is vain attempt. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the debate and is thus lead to a final conclusion. To begin with, there are numerous reasons why adolescences nowadays spend a year for a holiday to have a deeper insight about the world before they have a commencement of job or studying. Nevertheless, the most evident one derives from the fact that people are extremely busy at work and school to have leisure moments for themselves. For that reason, they often spend a long holiday in a ‘gap year ’ for visiting and vacationing with family to get more experiences and confidence before starting a new stage. Some research indicated that pupils after graduate has a long trip before taking part in a new trimester in the University usually tend to be more extroverted and optimistic with some activities such as voluntary or exploring activities. Thus, it seems to quite useful for teenagers to have some lessons through travelling with some real experiences which promote the ability to adapt to a new environment. Moving to consider the opposing argument put forward by critics, some people believe that there is a huge amount of consumption for travel a year that waste money and time while the student can spend holiday year working full hours or part-time to get an income rather than have a long trip without revenue. For instance, a survey at the University of Sydney proved that Students unable to go travel have more job opportunities because they spend almost a moment for interviews and training. In conclusion, while there are strong arguments on both sides of the debate, a final decision must be drawn, and I strongly believe that adolescence should be looking for a job chance than a waste a year on the beach or another memory.