In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sum of money on constructing new railway lines for veey fast trains between cities. Other believes the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion

A country's prosperity depends on how strong and well-connected its transport systems are. While some believe that same reason, it is crucial to invest in constructing new railway lines for fast connectivity between major cities, others feel that it's a good idea to improve on already present transport infrastructure. I personally agree with the latter because the first opinion presented is more expensive and time -consuming as compared to the second. On the one hand, while it is true that new railway lines with super fast trains between cities will help trade, commerce and business, however this has huge cost consideration. This will be an expensive choice because new infrastructure and technology will be needed as these will be new routes. For example, railway stations will be needed to build, a railroad, apart from expensive train engines and technologies to run such a system. Trained labourers and a new workforce to support it will be needed, and hence a large amount of money will be spent. Consequently, to recover the cost, costly tickets, might make this option less popular and without usage, there won't be good returns. On the other hand, with just a part of the above amount, improvement in the existing transport system can benefit a lot. Moreover, the time to make new railways for the public will take a long time. This again is the result of lots of planning, resource management, and implementation. To illustrate, workers will need to train on new technology and time will be spent on building new bridges and tunnels. Such projects take on years to be ready, and be available for public use. On the other hand, improving existing public transport will be less expensive and quick to implement. Firstly, the infrastructure and technology are already present, they just need improvement which can be minor or major. Minor improvements will be less expensive, as compared to major ones. Once minor improvements like repairing of existing buses and trains, and road repairs are undertaken, prevailing transport system will gather more support generating more income and even might become more affordable. For example, a country's richness is determined by how well utilized its public transport is such that even the rich are using public transport for the commute. Secondly, fixing existing systems is quick to implement, like for example, adding new buses into fleets, catering new routes, and so on. Some of these changes can be completed within weeks if not days, and these improvements and their effects can be immediately observed by people like road repairs are done, changes in existing buses and bus stops are cleaner and better, encouraging more daily commuters. In conclusion, while investing in a new railway system between cities might interest some, given the cost and time constraint, I personally agree with people who feel that money should be spent on fixing the existing system to make it more acceptable and profitabl profitably