In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In previous decades, purchasing groceries was considered a compulsory task that helped maintain the daily activity of every household. However, some thinkers assume that shopping nowadays is a kind of leisure activity. In my perspective, I partly agree with this statement and I shall put forth some ideas with lucid examples to exemplify my point in the following paragraph. To begin with, there is no doubt that shopping activity is still one of the critical household tasks that every family member needs to conduct as it helps function the daily activity. People still have to go to supermarkets or outdoor markets to purchase necessities and groceries for their families periodically. The difference is that consumers may have more options compared to shoppers in previous decades as there are more and more giant shopping centres and various types of commodities. On the other hand, the shopping experience nowadays is ameliorated significantly as most shopping malls are well decorated with plenty of utilities such as restaurants or playgrounds that attract more customers. As a result, many families considered shopping as a popular recreational activity at weekends. In the competitive job market, many employees, especially females, tend to go shopping or spend their money on valuable items or beauty products as a means of entertainment as many assume that this activity can greatly aid them to relieve stress after stressful days at work effectively. Consequently, a growing number of housewives or young ladies have become shopaholics and spend an ample amount of their budget on inessential items, which eventually turn into gigantic debts. In conclusion, while shopping in this decade still plays a crucial role in our daily grind, I affirm that many shoppers have considered purchasing goods as a means of amusement.