People can live and work anywhere they want to choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of communication technology and transport avail people to live and work anywhere they desire. Saving time and cost, the benefits of this improvement outweigh the drawbacks, despite its damage to health. Evidently, the abilities to telework and travel quickly allow people cost- and time-saving. Prior to accepting new employment elsewhere, people often must acknowledge numerous factors for another life chapter. For instance, finding a residence, shopping for the furniture, and adapting to the setting can cost both employers and employees considerable time, money, and energy. If the workers have families, they even have to take account of school for children and jobs for partners. Moreover, homesick can affect the mental health of the solo workers. Therefore, with the assistance of technology, teleworkers can work multinational and flexi-time, travel instantaneously and smoothly. Despite those conveniences, there are some potential harms to the wellness of individuals. Working multinationals will inevitably have different time zones, which can affect the circadian rhythm or biological clock. People who have prolonged disruptions of the rhythm have higher risks of sleep or metabolic disorders or even morbidity. For instance, endless virtual meetings can exhaust people, cause eye fatigue or hearing loss. In addition, frequent travellers can face jetlag between nations. However, those risks can be precluded if the organisations have policies for life balance and mental health. As soon as workers adapt to the novelty, they will learn to negotiate and adjust their schedules. In conclusion, the improvement of communication technology and transport is inevitable due to the technological evolution. That development gives beneficiaries to many stakeholders, albeit the potential health damages. With the right interventions and policies from organisations and individuals' adjustment, they can maximise productivity and profits.