Many people nowadays don't feel safe either when they are at home or go out. What are the reasons? What can we do to solve this problem?

Safety has become more concerned than ever before no matter people are staying home or travelling around. This negative feeling could be resulted from media or from real dangers in relation to our vulnerability in this time of technology and online connectedness. For each reason, the solutions differ. Crime has always existed along with the history of human but the tendency of media nowadays makes us feel that crime is getting more severe. In fact, bad news and crime are covered heavily on newspapers, TV and online news because this kind of content often attracts more attention from audience. The more views reporters get, the more advertisements they can sell to companies. The frequency of bad news on media could not only mislead people about the chance of crime in their neighborhood but also affect viewers’mind unconsciously. To solve this problem, citizens should be educated to be critical when reading or seeing news. They should have other reliable sources of information, such as local police offices, so that they can be informed properly about the security and threats in their area. Besides, people should equip themselves with measures of defense, such as learning a kind of martial art, staying with a group rather than going alone, and being cautious when in contact with a stranger. The second reason why people feel insecure is we are becoming more vulnerable due to the information we share via the Internet. Most adults nowadays spend many hours online for work, entertainment and shopping. By using social networking websites, we upload and share a lot of personal information, for example, our home, places we go and members of our family. Even when we do not actively share these kinds of information, every act we do on the Internet is recorded and made use. In the worst scenario, hackers could take advantage of leaks and use our identity to cheat people in subtle ways. To handle this issue, information security and user protection should be paid more attention by experts and governments. Similar to physical dangers and threats, Internet users themselves should be aware of risks when being online and have their own measures. In conclusion, the fear of people nowadays might be real or due to the effect of media. No matter the reason is, self-awareness and self-defense are the most important.