Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

It is undeniable that laws are enacted to maintain order, deliver justice, and ensure the safety and security of society's citizens. I absolutely agree with the idea that allowing people in any community to do anything they want will result in utter chaos and uncertainty, eventually leading to civilization's demise. In this essay, I will present some evidence to back up my position. To begin with, laws are created to ensure that humans function in a consistent manner. Without a doubt, everyone has the right to freedom. A civilised society, on the other hand, can only exist if people respect one another's rights, lives, and possessions. Only if they are given a set of rules or directives to obey can this be accomplished. Any civilization is said to fail if it lacks these rules or regulations. To make matters worse, it is human tendency to follow one's own interests. There will be far too many people who will slip into harmful habits and vices if they are given complete freedom to do anything they want. We will never have a civil society if the majority of people disregard other people's life, rights, and property. In addition to the aforementioned concerns, regulations are enacted to ensure that individuals are safe in their homes, workplaces, and while out socialising with family and friends. Corporate law, criminal law, civil law, constitutional law, and so on are examples of distinct sorts of laws. All of these regulations and laws contribute to a sense of safety and security in society as a whole, while also deterring individuals who have an inclination to injure others or perpetrate frauds of any kind. For example, if there were no traffic laws, there would be a large number of people killed or injured in car accidents, as well as too much disorder and confusion on the roads. Furthermore, no one will be terrified of speeding or running a red light. The law, of course, cannot be absolute and must be updated to reflect changing global and cultural demands and ideals. A legislation enacted fifty years ago may not be applicable in today's complex and global society. Women, for example, did not have the right to vote in many countries until the first half of the twentieth century. We cannot even consider such regulations in today's reality. Furthermore, rules are in place to protect people from being judged on the basis of their gender, occupation, religion, or race. They exist to help people understand their moral and social obligations, as well as to respect the rights and freedoms of others. To sum up, the law is necessary in any society to preserve order, protect safety, and teach people to respect one another. In addition, without the rule of law, wrongdoers will go unpunished, resulting in increased disorder and crime in any society.