Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Governments in some parts of the world believe that economic growth is more important than goals in other aspects, while some people have opposite views. In my opinion, although the development of the economy is crucial to the whole society, there are other goals that are equally important and cannot be overlooked. On the one hand, there are several reasons why many governments see economic progress as the most important part of their work plans. Firstly, people’s fundamental needs, such as food, clothes, accommodation and transport, can only be well satisfied when the country’s economic level is relatively high. Secondly, economic progress can create a great amount of revenue for a country, and governments can allocate these funds to education, infrastructure projects and scientific research, all of which are necessary for the long-term development of the country. On the other hand, I would argue that there are also other kinds of progress that are as important as economic development. For example, environmental protection is a serious problem that all of us must pay attention to, for many consequences of destroying the environment have emerged, such as extreme weather events, global-warming and rising sea levels. These phenomena lead to series of social problems, and they will become worse if we don’t do anything to stop or mitigate the trends. At the same time, governments should also conduct other plans, such as to make the society more justice and to reduce poverty. In conclusion, I understand why many governments think economic progress is their most important goal, but I think some other types of progress, such as protection of the environment, certainly cannot be neglected.