Topic: Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary times environmental hazards have become inevitable due to numerous reasons. Few people argue that most problematic is the declining population of some pertinent species of flora and fauna whereas some are of an opinion that there exists more dominant issues which pose threat to our environment. This essay will analyze and discuss both arguments and then I will provide my opinion. On the first sight our environment is dependent on the balance created by different species collectively.It is connected by series of food chain and food web and which explains the dependency of one species on another. If any one specie is on verge extinction or endangered then an imbalance will occur in the environment which will prove detrimental. For instance, in a food chain plants are placed at the first strata which is the main producer of food and herbivores and dependent on them for survival, then carnivores feed on herbivores and plants both. If any one of them is going to be endangered then the whole food chain will be in danger and hence our environment. Therefore this is one of the major environmental issues. On the other side there are numerous other issues which consequently harm our ecosystem. One among them is rising pollution.The gift of theindustrial revolution to our environment is the climbing rate of pollutants in the air, water, soil. These pollutants like chlorofluorocarbons, methane, sulphur and many more subsequently gives rise to global warming.Another alarming reason to be considered is increased deforestation. Owing to rapid urbanization and increasing population more forest area is to be cleared in order to satisfy the basic needs of people like building of houses and fuel etc. In conclusion, keeping in mind both the opinions aforementioned above in my opinion, there are uncountable reasons for increasing environmental issues but pollution is one reason which is the root cause of all environmental problems from which other issues propagate and it is in hands of human civilization to reduce it as much as possible for a healthy living environment.