Some people believe that government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce congestion, others think that building more and wider roads is the best way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether councils and governments are supposed to decrease road crowding by constructing train and subway lines or building more and wider roads. While sufficient highways is helpful to tackle this issue, I believe that having enough trains and subways are more important. On the one hand, narrow roads is main reason for causing traffic problems. When streets can’t provide enough space for cars, the distance between two of them are closing and it’s easily happening car crash. This has resulted in the situation that the ratio of traffic accidents in increasing. For instance, the research shows that metropolis have higher possibilities encountering accidents on the streets. Moreover, handling them will increase traffic jam. Thus, constructing more and wider streets will coping with road stress. On the other hand, it is perhaps more important that cities have more forms of transportation chosen by citizens. Trains and subways are popular for commuters mainly because it not only don’t cause lots of emissions and protect environment, but also save time. They are always arranged properly and arrive on time, which won’t cause traffic chaos. If cities have the tendency to build more public transport lines, it will release road pressure. For example, Beijing has built more than 15 subway lines throughout whole city. The majority members of society prefer this kinds of convenient forms rather than spend time on congesting Change the form of the verb congested show examples roads. Hence, I believe governments can deal with jam by expanding public transport lines. In conclusion, I can understand why people might want councils to improve roads, but it seems to me that more train and subway lines are more desirable in cities.