Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been a dispute over humans deriving into one same pattern of body images and behaviours from advertising. The advertising industry is growing up and has a huge impact on our lives. I believe that such an effect is problematic that we should acknowledge and tackle. On the first hand, advertisement promotes one type of women's image and eliminates others. Celebrities appearances repeatedly showing up on TV might epitomize tall and skinny women. The Fashion industry everywhere favours extremely thin models in their magazines while the famous blockbusters feature flawless, breathtaking and usually thin actresses. As a result, it impinges the wrong standard of beauty into the audience's mindset, especially young girls growing up watching all those types of movies, magazines. Some women starve themselves to an unhealthy level to have the model look. On the other hand, Advertisements on public media might also shape our shopping behaviours. According to psychological experts, people might buy a product not based on their own needs but rather on a social phenomenon. The profit-driven organizations could start a new trend by simply increasing the frequency of their advertisement on social media, TV or press, which then strikes us with the fear of missing out on any new trend. Lately, one notorious case is that the cosmetics industry is long criticized for its marketing strategies in encouraging women to follow a lengthy skincare routine with many unnecessary days and nights products. In conclusion, Advertising should embrace diversity and uniqueness in all life aspects. It is morally wrong when in the attempt of making profits, advertising leads people into a certain perspective. The dire consequences could happen in the long term.