Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it..

In this competitive world, advertising has been changed drastically since the invention of the internet. There is an argument whether advertising has become prevalent due to its effectiveness or people are not being attracted to it because of its availability. In this essay, I am going to discuss both views and draw my own opinion. In terms of the positive side, the ultimate aim of advertising is to convince customers to purchase goods. The main reason given to support this claim is that advertisement is an innovative avenue to inform individuals about newly launched products and their implications on different aspects such as environment and health. In other words, freedom of choice is a key principle in most societies. For instance, having the chance to compare between products easily and obtain the final decision can be accomplished only through advertising. Thus, it has become widely favourable among shoppers. However, it is commonly believed that the predominance of advertising tends to be a normal thing. Many reasons have led to this trend, beginning with, the accessibility of knowing products through billboards, catalogues, and brochures. In other words, the exaggeration in advertising products leads to a lack of credibility, which in turn makes customers experience bad moments. In addition, the deception in purchasing is associated with fake advertising. In conclusion, although advertising has proven its efficacy in recent days, it can cause resentment and unfavourable experience of the buyers. Therefore, I believe that advertising allows people to achieve full awareness about a product.