Young people are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. What is your opinion? Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, more and more young people tend to spend an increasing amount of time on clothes to assert themselves and dress up. There are several reasons why this trend occurs but personally, I believe that the demerits of this trend surpass its merits. On the one hand, spending too much time following fashion fads can make the young waste a great deal of money. As there are dozens of brands with various prices and designs for them to choose from, they are easily tempted to buy things impulsively and misspend money on unnecessary stuff. For instance, when some big brand names launch new clothing collections, a shopaholic may splurge their money on such up-to-date clothes; however, such items often end up old-fashioned and being left in the wardrobe. As a result, this issue imposes a significant financial burden on teenagers and their families. Moreover, running after fashion fads might be considered as a bad behavior student in the school environment because dressing flashy means you are neglecting to study. On the other hand, there are also some advantages to this trend. First, in terms of the young, spending time surfing the net and allocating their budget on trendy items is considered a method of relaxation. In modern life these days, young people have to deal with lots of pressure from school or the workplace, so this trend helps them enjoy their life and effectively release their stress. Secondly, nations’ economies also benefit from this phenomenon. The increase in the amount of consumption will promote manufacturing and commerce in the fashion industry, which afterward will create more jobs and boost economic growth. In conclusion, I believe that devoting a huge amount of time and money to slaving to be fashionable would be beneficial to some extent, I strongly believe that this can contribute to a host of drawbacks.