Television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well educated today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The advancement of teaching methodology nowadays enables students to garner knowledge from a wider range of sources, such as video-delivered teachings besides traditional written materials. Nonetheless, some parents develop a concern that the use of television as a learning tool may have detrimental effects on the children, as compared to books. I partly agree with the statement, and the reasoning behind my take will be the subject of this essay. On one hand, video-delivered learning is undeniably more attractive for students. In other words, the delivery methods are mostly composed of interesting moving pictures, along with a well-prepared narration adjusted for the target audiences. Combined together, these methods are very effective to attract pupils' attention, resulting in them being more willing and interested to learn subjects that are perceived as difficult. In addition, the first graders are more likely to have not developed sufficient ability to read, hence learning through video is more suitable to cater for their needs. On the other hand, television as a learning tool also has its own drawbacks. For instance, due to its own limitation, such as limited airing times, information delivered through video are less likely as comprehensive as those delivered through the book. The problem is exacerbated by the fact that watching television often discourages children from reading written materials. Moreover, watching is a one-way communication, through which people are forced to accept whatever information is presented, resulting in them being deterred from engaging in critical or imaginative thinking activities. To conclude, despite having clear particularly for early schoolers, the use of TV as a learning tool also has drawbacks worth considering if not accompanied by more interactive methods. Therefore, the TV should be viewed as a complementary of books, rather than a substitute.