The internet is a great source of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information reliable on the internet? What could be done to control information online?

There is no doubt the important role the internet has on our lives today, with the endless amount of information available at our fingertips. That being said, there are still problems of misinformation being distributed on the net. Therefore, the question becomes what is reliable. In the course of this essay, we shall try to determine what information is reliable, and what can be done to control the content being put online. First and foremost, Is all information reliable on the internet? Well, the simple answer is no. Misinformation is fast becoming a serious problem in today's world, and in many cases can promote hate and anger towards different sections of society. For example, during the Lakshadweep crisis, there was a video circulating online, of a Muslim youngster fatally shooting a Hindu female journalist. The fact of the matter was, no such event took place, and the whole idea of it was to create religious hatred amongst the Hindus and Muslims. Now let's look at what can be done to control content online. Firstly, the authors of various websites need to carry out strict verifications on the information they display and once done, the website must have a system to show the reader that this content has been verified, which will help introduce trust amongst the viewers. Secondly, the administration must set up bodies, which will help the public in the verification of facts, especially medical facts. For example, in the current pandemic, a lot of misinformation is going out regarding various remedies to help battle the disease, in addition to spreading distrust in the current vaccines available, which results in many people refusing to get vaccinated. In conclusion, whilst we are blessed to live in an age, where we have access to unlimited information, it is now coming at a price. It is becoming very difficult to cypher between the correct and incorrect information. However, if the above-mentioned measures are put in place, I believe that the content can be better regulated.