The gap between the rich and the poor is growing. What problem does this create? What can be done to tackle them?

Over the past century the gap between rich and poor has extremely increased all over the world, mainly, because of globalization and monopolization of economies. This essay will focus on negative consequences which emerged from this trend and how to cope with this problem. First of all, unequal distribution of wealth always causes polarization and social tension in society, thus it does not help to maintain peace and order. Large poorest parts of society are living in insecure inhumane conditions, trying to cover their basic needs in food and clothes. At the same time, the smallest group of people who owns the bulk of wealth, can enjoy a life of luxury. Apparently, increasing crime becomes a real danger for everyone, despite one's social status. For example, well-known slums of Rio de Janeiro have been the place where their inhabitants come across such things as drug sale and everyday murders. { Secondly, children from rich families have an access to quality education that obviously guarantee them better-paid positions in future career. Such an advantage at the start scales up disparity even more with each next generation. For instance, the annual price for education in reputable universities of US starts from $100 thousands, only 5% of americans can afford such expenses}. In order to change this situation to better, national policies and institutions should be used. Experience of some north Europe countries has demonstrated that implementing progressive taxes significantly corrects redistribution of capitals. Likewise, providing a minimum wage by the law and ensuring supportive benefits by the government for low-paid sectors and small businesses contribute a lot in decreasing of income inequity. For instance, Finland holds first place in happiness index, because of guaranteed free access for everyone to high-quality education, financial support and balanced taxes for companies and individuals. In conclusion, no one can deny the major role and responsibility of state in setting rules which foster more or less equal standards of living and reduce criminal activity.