The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Stricter punishments will indeed deter many motorists from driving recklessly or carelessly on the roads. While severe regulation should penalize the driving offenders, I believe a combination of other methods would provide greater outcomes. Stricter punishments will undoubtedly act as a deterrent, so transport users will think twice before committing traffic offences. It is often overlooked that motoring offences are, in fact, crimes. The total weight of the law should be applied in imposing a range of non-custodial sentences, such as heavy fines and license suspension. The letter of the law must be strictly implemented, banning offenders from the roads so they will no longer endanger other road users, including pedestrians. In the UK, those who drive while intoxicated sometimes serve a prison sentence. While harsh penalties for offenders should be high on the government agenda, there are other steps that national and local authorities should take to improve road safety. Firstly, installing speed cameras nudge drivers into adhering to speed limits. Numerous authorities around the world have adopted this very cost-effective measure. Secondly, traffic calming methods have succeeded in reducing the number of accidents, especially in densely populated regions. Finally, a program of vehicle inspections at authorised centres is important to minimise accidents caused by mechanical failures. In conclusion, while giving stricter punishment for driving offences is an effective policy, many road safety measures should be taken to mitigate the risks.