Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. Why is the reason for doing that? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

In this ever-changing world, too much is expected from children than in past generations. Obviously, many parents are responsible for the heavy pressure their children are under. This essay will discuss not only the main causes of the older generation putting pressure on the young, but some negative effects of this issue. There are two main reasons behind this phenomenon. First of all, in such a society with fierce competition, the young are faced with the unstable prospects. Considering the fact, quite a number of parents believe that children must have excellent academic performance unless they want to be stuck in a low paying service job. In such cases, the young are motivated to work hard to meet their parents ' demands. Another important reason causing burnout is parents ' high expectations. It is common for parents to expect that their sons and daughters can outperform their peers, and they often sign their children up for after-school classes--sports, piano and dance, reducing their time for recreation. The negative impacts of heavy pressure on children can not be neglected. To begin with, in order to get exam results right, some children spend too much time on study, so they are more vulnerable to health problems, such as short-sightedness and obesity. furthermore, over-scheduled children often feel exhausted when having to attend extra classes after a tiring day at school, therefore, they are more likely to be overwhelmed by physiological and psychological stress. From what has been mentioned above, we can come to the conclusion that children are under too much parental pressure for several reasons, and it is evident that stress from parents has a variety of drawbacks. This problem should be taken seriously by both parents and children to prevent it from deteriorating further.